News and Archives

First International Crew Change conducted at the PPFZ.

April 3, 2023



The San Fernando International Seaport conducted its first One-Stop Shop (OSS) International Crew Change operations last Friday, March 31, 2023, for MV FUGRO EQUATOR with nineteen (19) embarking crew (onsigners) and four (4) disembarking crew (offsigners).
The Coast Guard Station, La Union, Bureau of Quarantine, Bureau of Immigration, Bureau of Customs, Poro Point Management Corporation (PPMC) and representatives from OSS member agencies were gathered to cater to the onsigners and offsigners of MV FUGRO EQUATOR.
The San Fernando International Seaport in Poro Point Freeport Zone (PPFZ) has been selected by the Department of Transportation (DOTr) as one of the Crew Change Hubs in the country which aims to help facilitate the safe travel of seafarers, including the safe turnover of ship crew and other ship crew changes while ensuring effective measures are implemented in order to minimize the risks of pandemic-related infection.
The crew change of MV FUGRO EQUATOR is the first crew change to be processed at the San Fernando International Seaport at Soiltech Pier.
MV FUGRO EQUATOR is a special service survey vessel dedicated to carry out offshore survey services.

Poro Point Management Corporation

The Poro Point Freeport Zone used to house the former Wallace Air Station. The enactment of Republic Act 7227 (Bases Conversion and Development Act) on March 19, 1992 and Proclamation No. 216 on July 27, 1993 effectively transferred the stewardship of the Freeport to the Bases Conversion and Development Authority (BCDA) to facilitate its conversion into a productive economic growth center.

Gov. Joaquin L. Ortega Ave. (Formerly Pennsylvania Ave.) San Fernando City 2500, La Union Philippines